My top 10 favourite Shakespeare lines

shakespeare

This was the topic of one blog I’m following (https://bardandbible.wordpress.com/2017/07/19/my-10-favorite-shakespeare-lines/) – and as an English teacher, a very good if rather tricky challenge!

In no particular order:

  1. ‘Let me not to the marriage of true minds admit impediments.’ (Sonnet 116)
  2.  ‘To thine own self be true.’ (Hamlet Act 1, Scene 3)
  3.  ‘If music be the food of love play on.’ (Twelfth Night Act 1, Scene 1)
  4. ‘We are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little life is rounded with a sleep.’ (The Tempest Act 4, Scene 1)
  5. ‘All the world ‘s a stage, and all the men and women merely players. They have their exits and their entrances; And one man in his time plays many parts.’(As You Like it Act 2, Scene 7)
  6. ‘The man that hath no music in himself, Nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds, Is fit for treasons, stratagems, and spoils … Let no such man be trusted.’ (The Merchant of Venice Act 5 Scene 1)
  7. Don Pedro: ‘You were born in a merry hour …’ Beatrice: ‘A star danced, and under that I was born.’ (Much Ado about Nothing Act 2 Scene 1)
  8. ‘My mistress, when she walks, treads on the ground:  And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare as any she belied with false compare’ (Sonnet 130.)
  9. ‘My bounty is as boundless as the sea, My love as deep; the more I give to thee,
    The more I have, for both are infinite.’ (Romeo and Juliet Act 2 Scene 2.)
  10. ‘Though she be but little, she is fierce’ (A Midsummer Night’s Dream Act 3 Scene 2.)

Ok … not Shakespeare but still tickles me …

Image result for o death where is thy sting

Picture credits:

Pic 1: https://dramateachersnetwork.wordpress.com/

Oic 2: http://nativeenglishspain.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/wise-wednesday-grammar-figures-of_26.html

 

 

About francesgabriel75

Just thinking out loud about faith, children and church. Born in Dorset but now living too far away from the sea, which still calls to me, occasionally. Make my living in the world of education.
This entry was posted in Authentic Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

