All about The Boss

It’s not about me … it’s about Him.  It’s not about my imperfections (God knows – He does! – that I’ll never be perfect, never even be ‘good enough’ – for whom?  For myself?  For others who tell me I’m not worshipping in the right way or with the right heart?)  They’re probably right, of course, but it’s not about them either.

Going to church today, I was struck by the fact that if we focus on ourselves, we will always fail to measure up.  If we focus on God, on the other hand, we will never reach an end to his goodness, his love, his faithfulness, his sheer unmerited Grace.
download (7)God wants to release us from the false burdens of guilt, shame, our own and others’ expectations in the light of what Jesus has already done for us.  John Bunyan makes this clear in  Pilgrim’s Progress when Christian’s heavy bundle rolls away down the hill the moment he looks at the cross.

great-conversions

Don’t get me wrong:  I’m not saying we shouldn’t care about our attributes, attitudes, actions towards others.  We should.  The more we draw near to God, the more we will want him to change us, perfect us.  But that’s the point – He has done the deed at Calvary.  He is the one who will finish off the task in perfecting us, ‘fit[ting] us for heaven’ as the children’s carol, ‘Away in A Manger’ says.

Listening to the sermon on some of Jesus’ last words (which will appear here under the 22nd of Feb:  http://www.buckinghamparishchurch.org.uk/ Media/AllMedia.aspx), the way Jesus substituted himself for ourselves on the cross was abundantly clear.

pierced

He didn’t deserve this punishment – as described by Isaiah, Chapter 53 v 5 (here in the King James Version) but He took it willingly, gladly, for our sakes. An innocent lamb, a man much sinned-against, counted among the sinners although He was none.  Even Pilate, a man who presumably prided himself on his deliverance of justice and maintenance of the status quo, could not find anything for which to blame him and had, quite literally, to wash his hands of the whole affair (Matthew 27: 24.)

So how do we respond? Do we let other voices, others around us, tell us that we’re not enough, that we’re not ‘doing it right’?  Or do we look at God and say, ‘Yes, you’re right.  But He’s done it all.’  That’s not all the work of our Christian life – knowing this, living this, sharing this.  But it’s the ONLY place we can start.

With apologies to Meghan Trainor, from whose song I have adapted these lyrics (see the original version at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PCkvCPvDXk!)

Because you know
I’m all about The Boss
‘Bout The Boss, no guilt trip
I’m all about The Boss
‘Bout The Boss, no guilt trip
I’m all about The Boss

‘Bout The Boss, no guilt trip
I’m all about The Boss
‘Bout The Boss

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, it’s not about me
But who my Heav’nly Dad is
As I’m forgiven, see
‘Cause He took my sin, died for me on the cross
And won me for Him – to Satan’s bitter loss

I see some people here with the wrong attitude
Don’t focus on yourself
But show some gratitude
Because your Heav’nly Father loves you so much:
He looks at you as if you’re perfect
Thanks to Christ’s redeeming touch.

Yeah, my Bible it tells me don’t get dragged down by your sin
Because My God is gracious and beckons us to come in
You know He took on our guilt and He paid off the debt we owed
So if you’re on a guilt trip then you’re heading on the wrong road

Because you know
I’m all about The Boss
‘Bout The Boss, no guilt trip
I’m all about The Boss
‘Bout The Boss, no guilt trip
I’m all about The Boss

‘Bout The Boss, no guilt trip
I’m all about The Boss
‘Bout The Boss
Hey!

I’m taking God on trust
And He knows who I am better than I do
And yet He loves me. He raised me from the dust
And looks at me as if I’m perfect thanks to Christ’s redeeming touch.

Yeah, my Bible it tells me don’t get dragged down by your sin
Because My God is gracious and beckons us to come in
You know He took on our guilt and He paid off the debt we owed
So if you’re on a guilt trip then you’re heading on the wrong road

Because you know
I’m all about The Boss
‘Bout The Boss, no guilt trip
Etc!

 

… And I know I’ve quoted this one before, but one of my touchstones below is reflected by the song ‘In Christ Alone’ by the songwriter, Stuart Townend. See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8welVgKX8Qo – … and Be Blessed!

Frances

08a4d9419385dcc6d61eed1370aa341e

Picture Credits:

Pic. 1: http://www.canyonhillscommunitychurch.com/news/detail/its-all-about-god-getting-to-know-more-about-him

Pic 2: http://www.findingtruthmatters.org/articles/great-conversions1.html

Pic 3: http://reversingverses.com/2012/11/21/isaiah-535/

Pic 4: https://www.pinterest.com/exploregod/quotes-to-live-by/

About francesgabriel75

Just thinking out loud about faith, children and church. Born in Dorset but now living too far away from the sea, which still calls to me, occasionally. Make my living in the world of education.
This entry was posted in Authentic Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

