Trying to walk on water …

Have been silent for a while, as have been getting to grips with my new job. Which has been going swimmingly, since you ask, and which I have been enjoying immensely. Bit of a blip here and there since I started writing this post – but that’s teaching (and life!) for you, with its ups … and its downs.

sea_storm_3d_screensaver_big

Because now the hard work REALLY starts … as after Easter I have a full timetable (teaching 11-17 year olds, which I know is not everyone’s idea of fun … but when it works, there’s nothing like it!) Having confidently said to my husband that it was amazing that I wasn’t ‘getting at all stressed’ about this, in the last few days I have been … big time.

Then I re-read the story of Peter and the other disciples in Matthew 14.  After the high of Feeding the Five Thousand came the weariness and worry of crossing the lake, at night, in bad weather, with the wind against them.  And boy, do I ever feel like that sometimes.

But into this situation comes Jesus … walking on the water.  I think I’m with the disciples here in that I’d have been, quite frankly, terrified out of my wits. But once I’d realised who it was, I’d have probably been with Peter too, confidently declaring my readiness to step out of the boat.

 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” (verse 28.) 

Yeah!  I’m up for it, God! Until … … I look at the waves around me, feel the wind on my face, feel the fear in the pit of my stomach.  And start to sink. Yes, I’m definitely with Peter here. Most definitely.

5680008-large

Too often we (ok – I mean I) dwell on the problems that surround us.  Focus on the size of the waves.  Forget the infinitely greater power of the One who is beckoning me towards  Him. Because there He is, reaching out to me:

Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” (verse 31)

 I like to think that Jesus isn’t dismissing Peter here.  He knew Peter’s weakness, as He knows all of our weaknesses. Instead He is gently chiding him: “Did you forget ME? Did you forget who I AM?  Peter, you KNOW me.  Why did you imagine that I wasn’t there to catch you, all along?”

friends4

Because He is.  And so, with Peter, I need (again, and again, and again) to get out of the boat, and just walk on water … One foot in front of another.  Just baby-steps if that’s all I can manage.  But the important thing is to try.

man-walks-on-water11

Bible verses taken from the NIV.

Picture credits: (Pic. 1: http://sharecare.wordpress.com/2008/02/

Pic. 2: – a stunning picture of Lyme Regis in Dorset, UK, where we went on holiday recently but which suffered tremendous storms this winter: http://www.westernmorningnews.co.uk/POLL-10-incredible-storm-pictures-favourite/story-20400374- detail/story.html;

 Pic. 3: http://www.mydailywalkinhisgrace.com/2011/06/friendship.html

Pic. 4: http://preacherwoman.wordpress.com/tag/walking-on-water/)

 

 

About francesgabriel75

Just thinking out loud about faith, children and church. Born in Dorset but now living too far away from the sea, which still calls to me, occasionally. Make my living in the world of education.
This entry was posted in Authentic Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

