Yours is the Power, the Kingdom and the Glory ….

Image

As we come to the end of another year, it’s always a good time to take stock.  What have I done with the talents, the gifts, the opportunities God has given me in 2013?  And what will I do with them in 2014?

I don’t know about you, but I don’t always act as if God has the Power, the Kingdom and the Glory, but Jesus wasn’t offering it as a choice.  He was stating it as a fact.

God has the Power.

He is in complete charge of the Kingdom.

And He deserves all the Glory.

Image

This isn’t an excuse for a guilt trip – but a reminder to BELIEVE what Jesus said.

If I believe God has the Power, I will step out in faith in 2014, knowing He has the strength to achieve what He has set out to do in me and through me – and that I need not fear because He is with me.

If I believe that God rules the Kingdom – no other powers will prevail.  And all that there is is part of that Kingdom – I do not need to divide things into ‘religious’ or ‘secular’ – it is all one. I am serving God’s kingdom if I put out tea and coffee cups for church, if I offer guests hospitality or if I do the talk for the service. I am serving God whether I do the accounts (if I do them diligently and to the best of my God-given ability, as Colossians 3 v 23 says-  in the New International Version: ‘Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters’ ), whether I serve customers at a supermarket checkout or whether I am employed by the church in some capacity – and every other job in between.

And finally, if I believe that God deserves all the Glory – I will bear witness to that Glory all around me – in the myriad blessings I receive every day, from the radiant light patterns in the sky, to the sounds of my children playing.  I will give Him thanks for all that He is, and all that He gives me – and give back to Him the praise that is due.

filepicker-4AWihZPURqy9rKcgfNiz_heaven_is_bright

For ever and ever!

AMEN!

And finally … a very Happy New Year to all – Frances x

Image

(Because I couldn’t resist!)

Picture credits: Pic1: http://www.karipatterson.com/2013/01/02/reflection-questions-for-2012/; Pic 2: http://tapiture.com/image/no-looking-back; Pic. 3: http://thesmashable.com/happy-new-year-2014-wallpapers-hd-happy-new-year-hd-backgrounds/

About francesgabriel75

Just thinking out loud about faith, children and church. Born in Dorset but now living too far away from the sea, which still calls to me, occasionally. Make my living in the world of education.
This entry was posted in Authentic Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

