I’ve Been Nominated: The Liebster Award

liebster

Am very pleased but also very humbled to have been nominated for this award by afriendforever54 at http://afriendofjesus2013.com/

I first started this blog (after my husband telling me I should write one for ages!) as a response to something painful  – as a kind of therapy maybe, but also as a means of expressing things that mean a lot to me and that are on my heart.  So it is amazing (thank God!) that these musings reach out across the world to other people and touch them, even in a small way.

So a heart-felt thank you again, afriendforever54, for the nomination!

However upon accepting the Liebster Award, there are a few rules that need to be followed:
– Link back the blogger that tagged you
– Nominate ten others and answer the questions of the one who tagged you
– Ask ten questions for the bloggers you nominate
– Let your nominees know of their award

afriendforever54‘s questions were as follows (here goes with the answers! 🙂 ):
1. What makes you smile?  Lots of things – a butterfly landing next to me; uplifting moments in life or on-line when we humans display the best of the attributes God gave us rather than the worst; but also very silly slapstick humour (think Tom and Jerry etc!)  Also my husband and children! (Lots!)

2. What makes you sad? When man destroys needlessly (e.g. much of what is happening in Egypt at the moment); and since having my own children I am far more emotional where children generally are concerned; not being able see a way to use the skills God has given me sometimes … but God knows, and will find a way for me!

3. What motivates you? Looking after my husband and children to the best of my ability; working with kids in church and growing in faith together; aiming to reflect God in my life and point others to Him; using the talents and skills He has given me as best I can.

4. How would you describe your personality? Caring but I try to give people space too; challenging (some might say stroppy but I hope I turn it to positive ends!)  Bit of a ‘glass half-empty’ person if I’m honest but am making myself stop and see the positives, of which there are many.

5. What do you least enjoy doing in life? Not good at working in pressured situations!  Not an adrenaline junkie either ….

6. What is your favorite song? Lots!  “California Dreaming” (closet hippy!); “Shine” by Take That (HUUUUUUGE fan!); and “Brown-Eyed Girl” (Van Morrison.)  On Christian front: “In Christ Alone” (Stuart Townend) means a lot to me.  Link to video here:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ouGuG97l2RY  (forgive me if I’ve posted this before but worth repeating!), “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us” ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YV2zMZ-nZ7k) and “Be Thou My Vision” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EYYbwEqDlg)

7. What is your favorite quote and why? Should be something from Shakespeare I think, given my background (former English teacher and love Shakespeare!) Or maybe Mother Theresa: “Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” Because we can – an encouragement but also a challenge (see what I meant earlier? 🙂 )

8. How do you relax?  Easy – reading then reading some more, watching TV (am watching Forrest Gump with family as typing this), or walking in beautiful places (near water if possible.)

9. What is your favorite bible verse?  Isaiah 43: 1 –

But now, this is what the Lord says—
he who created you, Jacob,
he who formed you, Israel:
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.”

10. Why do you blog? Have partly explained this above – mostly because I have things I want to say! (as my answers above demonstrate!) To encourage others with whatever wisdom I have gained and to connect with others wherever they may be, even if in a small way. To point to God.

Thank you afriendforever54 -I enjoyed answering your questions!

Now for my nominations … I nominate the following 10 blogs:

My questions are:

  1. What are your reasons for writing a blog? (Copied from my nominee, but it’s a good question I think!)
  2. What’s the best thing (for you) about writing a blog?
  3. What’s your best quality?
  4. What’s the quality you want God to work on the most?
  5. What’s your favourite place in the world and why?
  6. How would you spend an ideal day?
  7. What’s the most encouraging thing you’ve ever been told by a fellow Christian?
  8. What’s your favourite Bible verse and why (another copied question but genuinely interested in people’s answers.)
  9. If you were able to meet one person (alive or dead, real or fictional) who would it be and what would you ask them?
  10. What’s the first question you would like to ask God, when you meet him?

Hope you enjoy answering these questions as much as I enjoyed answering those of afriendforever54!

If someone does not wish to accept the award, that’s fine. Either way, just leave a comment below so we are able to read your answers.

God bless,

Frances

About francesgabriel75

Just thinking out loud about faith, children and church. Born in Dorset but now living too far away from the sea, which still calls to me, occasionally. Make my living in the world of education.
This entry was posted in Blog Awards, I've Been Nominated: The Liebster Award and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’ve Been Nominated: The Liebster Award

  1. booklovers1 says:

    Congratulations!! 🙂 It’s good to be introduced to new bloggers. Glad that you were nominated. Looking forward to following. Many Blessings!!

  2. Danielle says:

    Thank you for nominating! So exciting! God bless!
    1.What are your reasons for writing a blog?
    I want to reach people who haven’t been reached yet for Jesus. I love him, and want others to know him and his love.
    2.What’s the best thing (for you) about writing a blog?
    It’s mostly therapeutic! But to see people who you wouldn’t typically “follow” a Christian blog follow mine is a huge honor.
    3.What’s your best quality?
    I think I’m pretty funny. But if you ask my family, they’d say I’m pretty sarcastic.
    4.What’s the quality you want God to work on the most?
    Selflessness
    5.What’s your favourite place in the world and why?
    Haiti. It was the most memorable trip of my life and has shaped who I am today as a believer.
    6.How would you spend an ideal day?
    it would be raining outside, I would be snuggled under covers reading books, drinking coffee and snuggling my babes.
    7.What’s the most encouraging thing you’ve ever been told by a fellow Christian?
    No matter where I am, that God has more for me.
    8.What’s your favourite Bible verse and why
    Romans 5:1-5 Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we[a] have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 2 through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we[b] boast in the hope of the glory of God. 3 Not only so, but we[c] also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us

    I love this verse because it is my life! there will always be suffering in this world. But there will always be Jesus.
    9.If you were able to meet one person (alive or dead, real or fictional) who would it be and what would you ask them? Harry Potter! I wish those books were real! Love them!
    10.What’s the first question you would like to ask God, when you meet him?
    I don’t know if I could ask him a question. I would probably hit my knees and thank him, and cry a whole lot. But eventually, after composing myself……I would ask him “why?” Why this world, this way? How can he love us so much? I just can’t wrap my brain around that!

  3. Thank you for nominating me Frances 🙂 Here are my answers:

    1.What are your reasons for writing a blog? To share what God has been teaching me through His Word and though life and encourage others in the process.

    2.What’s the best thing (for you) about writing a blog? Being able to put in words my feelings and ideas and then being able to connect with other bloggers who can relate to what I have been learning.

    3. What’s your best quality? Being compassionate and sensitive to the needs of others.

    4. What’s the quality you want God to work on the most? Having patience for God’s plan and timing in certain areas of life.

    5.What’s your favourite place in the world and why? Dumas Bay. A secluded little beach near my house where I often go to journal, think, and spend time alone with God.

    6. How would you spend an ideal day? I would spend my day out in nature somewhere. Either hiking on a mountain. Hanging out by the ocean. Exploring unique new places in Seattle. Or trying something I’ve never done before.

    7. What’s the most encouraging thing you’ve ever been told by a fellow Christian? That I’m a blessing to them in one way or another.

    8. What’s your favourite Bible verse and why? “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31. It’s a constant reminder that in the busyness of life I will always find purpose and renewal to keep on going by placing my hope in and staying connected to Jesus.

    9. If you were able to meet one person (alive or dead, real or fictional) who would it be and what would you ask them? Joseph from the Bible. I would ask him how he was able to survive and hold on to hope for so long in those years he spent in the dark dungeon.

    10.What’s the first question you would like to ask God, when you meet him? Why in the world He thought we sinful human beings were worth giving up His One and only son for.

    • Interesting answers, Anna – thank you for replying. Must confess some of my questions are put in order to glean encouragement from the answers – particularly 7 and 8, but the others are to feel I’ve got to know my fellow bloggers a little more. And your answers tick both of those boxes … thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

