Striving on thin soil

I admire poppies.  Every time I drive out of my road I see a lone red poppy growing at the side of the road, in the gutter.  Not where it’s ‘supposed’ to be … but where it has found itself.  Yes, I love poppies!

In part it’s because of their bold beauty, in part because of their profligate generosity in spreading their seed as the wind takes it.  However, it’s at least as much because of their ability to thrive on the thinnest of soils.  I think we could learn a lot from poppies!

  • How do we respond when the going gets tough?  Do we bemoan our fate and complain that things are against us – or do we hang on, where we are, and work on facing the Son – and grow?!  (As for all of my blog posts, this is meant to speak to myself as much as anyone else!)  I am bad for being impatient, losing heart when I can’t see what God is doing in my circumstances – but whatever the soil, I can grow if I’m in the place God wants me to be!
  • Do we worry about where we will be going to next, where we will be sent, what we will do there, our ‘legacy’ in this world – or trust that God knows what He is about? I wouldn’t have expected God to put me in the heart of Formula 1 country – when I hate motor-racing! – but all the factors slotted into place, other Christians have come to our village, there has been work to do in the churches and I have felt that God wants me to be here.  Why?  Don’t know!  Am sure I’ll find out what the next step is – when He wants to tell me!
  • Overall, it’s the simplicity of poppies – they could be seen as a weed, certainly not as ‘showy’ as many other flowers.  But this gives me a particular feeling of joy – I do not need to measure myself against others because when it comes to it, God will hold me to account for what I am and what I have done with His gifts, not how I compare with others.  It doesn’t matter if I’m not as beautiful as Julia Roberts, nor have as much money as Her Majesty the Queen.   What matters is that I grow my little heart out for God, where I am, and hopefully give others some joy along the way.

“Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.” (Luke 12 v 27 NIV.)

Be blessed – and strive to grow – in whichever garden God has planted you!

(Photo credit: http://www.squidoo.com/memorial-day-holiday)

About francesgabriel75

Just thinking out loud about faith, children and church. Born in Dorset but now living too far away from the sea, which still calls to me, occasionally. Make my living in the world of education.
This entry was posted in Authentic Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Striving on thin soil

  1. Arlene says:

    …and so we bloom where we are planted and are content doing so! Great post! xo

Leave a Reply

